2022 Favorites…8 Months Late?

Hello, everybody! I hope your Saturday is off to a good start. I even wondered if I should even bother sharing my favorite reads of last year, but I decided that these books deserved their spotlight, so here I go, facing the embarrassment of arriving painfully late to the game! I would love to hear about your favorite books of last year, or even your current favorite book of this year! (Or just a favorite book in general. LOL) I’m always looking for good books to add to my TBR.

Since it has been a whopping 8 months since the New Year of 2023 began, I cannot actually remember how I would have ranked these books of mine from favorite to most favorite of the year, so these books are not listed in any specific order. Let’s get started!

“Friend-ish: Reclaiming Real Friendship in a Culture of Confusion,” by Kelly Needham.

This book was extremely timely for me. I was really struggling with some of my friendships in the way of expecting too much from my sweet friends. I was struggling with wanting to be everyone’s best friend and wanting so desperately to be liked that I was growing frustrated when they weren’t living up to my impossible expectations. I loved how Mrs. Needham took her readers to the Word of God and showed us what true Biblical friendship looks like.

Heirlooms, by Sandra Byrd

After watching a booktuber highly recommend this book, I requested it from my library and I’m so glad I did! This book was utterly delightful. I loved this sweet tale that focused on friendship and God’s provision, even in hard times. I also loved the fact that some characters with special needs were included in this story.

Deadly Target, (Rocky Mountain Courage, #2), by Elizabeth Goddard

This series was honestly a bit hit and miss with me. I liked books 1 and 3 all right, but this book was my favorite. I remember that it kept me on the edge of my seat, and I did love the setting of all of these books!

Return to Boone’s Hollow, (The Librarian of Boone’s Hollow #2), by Kim Vogel Sawyer

Ms. Sawyer is my absolute favorite author of all time right now and has been for the past four or so years. I fell in love with her writing in her novel, “Grace and the Preacher”, highlighting a young woman’s singleness with the desire to be married and it was just so tastefully done. I loved it. I quickly moved on to her book, Bringing Maggie Home, a novel that kept me on the edge of my seat with the heavy found-family trope.

Her novel from a couple years ago, The Librarian of Boone’s Hollow has made quite the circulation amongst the Christian readers and it was definitely a favorite of mine. I was thrilled when she announced she was publishing a sequel to it to give her reader’s another story set in Boone’s Hollow and let me tell you—Bettina’s story did not disappoint. I think I even teared up at the very end. I was also blessed to get a signed copy!

The Protective One, (Walnut Creek #3) by Shelley Shepard Gray

I really loved this story! I truly enjoyed this whole series and all the books genuinely touched my heart, but there was something about E.A.’s story that became extra special to me and hit my favorites list of 2022. It feels like just yesterday that I finished this story, it resonated so with me!

Lizzy and Jane, by Katharine Reay

Reay is honestly an author that I have to be in the mood to read, and that’s okay! I always have enjoyed her books and this one is my favorite of hers thus far. I’ve been slowly reading her backlist and this book just touched my heart. I loved this story about two sisters who have struggled to get along, but are brought together in one sister’s serious health diagnosis. I’m pretty sure I teared up with this book, too!

The Austen Escape, by Katharine Reay

Another book by Reay! I loved the setting of this book and the focus on friendship, even in the hard moments. It was a blessing for me to read. I also remember liking the romance in this one. (This is making me want to dive into another one of her novels!)

And finally…

Gipp’s Understandable History of the Bible, by Samuel C. Gipp

This book was a very helpful history on the Bible. I am a KJV only reader, but haven’t always been, so this was a very helpful look into WHY my husband and I have chosen to read only from the KJV and also just a neat overall history of God’s Word and how we received it in the English language. I borrowed this book from my sister-in-law and hope to add a copy to my own personal library someday.

~

There we have it! I had a grand total of 8 favorite books this month. I remember being a little worried I wouldn’t hardly have any favorites of 2022 to share with you as I remember going quite a few books in between of finding favorites. I needn’t have feared, and in a few short months I will be sharing my favorites of 2023! Right now I have 4 favorites for this year. We shall see if I can find anymore.

Until Next Time, friends!

With Love in Christ,

-Bekah

P.S. On a separate note, I had the lovely blessing of being hosted on Rebekah Morris’ blog, Read Another Page, for an author interview. I had such a great time chatting with her. I’ve been a fan of Rebekah’s work for several years and it was so much fun to get to visit her blog for an interview. If you’re interested in reading the interview, please click HERE. Otherwise, please feel free to peruse Rebekah’s other posts by clicking the linked blog title above. Who knows? You might find some encouragement and also find some books to add to your TBR. 😀

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started